Customer Comments

Swingate Inn and Hotel
Deal Rd Dover Kent CT15 5DP 01304 204043 62 4.4
Good
Good price - quality balance, friendly service

Willem Stuiver - 13th May, 2015
Verified Review

Will be back time and time again.
Excellent location, staff very helpful and polite, food in the restaurant was out of this world, excellent breakfast, very clean and comfortable room. I feel really pathetic saying this, but the only slight complaint is that the television in our room was microscopic. It was almost impossible to read the on screen guide from the bed and my eyesight is brilliant. Other than that, everything else was first class.

Chris Millard - 13th May, 2015
Verified Review

We would stay again
We had a twin and a double room and both were clean, tidy and well-appointed with really comfortable beds. Check-in/out was really quick and easy and all staff were polite and friendly. The Swingate is just minutes up the road from Dover and the ferry dock.

Miss. Christine Sykes - 13th April, 2015
Verified Review

best nights sleep
brilliant place to stay.great for crossing the channel or a visit to Kents Garden of England.Very helpful people.clean,comfy room.amazingly comfortable beds.10/10

Susan Walsh - 12th April, 2015
Verified Review

Great rest.
We spent a lovely time at The Swingate inn. The bed was so comfortable and we felt very refreshed as we had to be up early to catch a ferry. It was so convenient. The staff were wonderful and so friendly and were also so helpful and professional as well as very friendly. The chef provided us with a lovely packed lunch to eat en route and it was delicious. We will definitely be staying again and have recommended the hotel to all of our friends. 10000% satisfied. well done and thank you again. Mr & Mrs Clarke.

Nigel Clarke - 4th April, 2015
Verified Review

Short Break
Staff very friendly and efficient. The Indian meal was excellent. Room clean and comfortable

Mrs. Chrisrtine Powell - 3rd April, 2015
Verified Review

overnight stay
room clean & good value, excellent curry in restaurant, friendly staff & relaxed atmosphere.

Mr. John Cook - 12th September, 2014
Verified Review

Recommend
A quality hotel with an ideal location for the eastern docks at Dover. The facilities provided by the hotel were above expecations and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The free parking is also a benefit of this hotel. There is also a little play area with slide outside for the children

Mrs Heln Stabler - 15th August, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Hotel
A lovely hotel close to Deal, the rooms are very clean, Wifi available and everything is at hand. Large car park and nice Bar and restaurant. The Indian restaurant in the hotel is outstanding and the food excellent.

Mr. Philip Lovatt - 13th August, 2014
Verified Review

Comfortable stay
We would certainly recommend the Swingate Inn & Hotel as a place to stay. The staff were helpful, friendly & attentive. Our room was clean & comfortable & the full English breakfast set us up for the busy day ahead. A really nice place!

Mr. David Brown - 26th July, 2014
Verified Review

My review
Excellent, as always.

Mr. Tony Newsum - 3rd July, 2014
Verified Review

A pleasant stay
We booked 4 rooms as a family group.Pleasant and clean rooms with comfortable beds, bathroom decor could do with a little "freshening".The food in their restaurant was excellent. would definitely stay again.

Mrs. Joan Brandrick - 30th June, 2014
Verified Review

Eating at Swingate Inn
The restaurant food at the Swingate Inn was absolutely amazing. We especially enjoyed the Indian Menu it was unlike any Indian food we have tasted before. Our room was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. We would recommend a stay to anyone.

Patricia Harper - 18th May, 2014
Verified Review

VERY HAPPY STAY
The room was basic but very clean and pleasant, with no noise from the pub below. Staff were warm and welcoming, and the food was excellent. The 7 quid breakfast must be the best value in the county, and thanks for the proper coffee!! Very fast wifi. Would happily stay again, Thanks

Carl Bruce - 2nd May, 2014
Verified Review

Great location
Lovely quiet, comfortable and pleasant hotel. We used this as a base for visiting the local area and it was perfect. Rooms are simple but well furnished. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We ate in the Restaurant on our arrival and if Indian cuisine is to your liking you will have a great meal. We will definitely look at staying again.

Mr. Mark Nedza - 21st April, 2014
Verified Review

Swingate Inn and Hotel, what a find.
From arrival to departure we were totally happy with our stay. Clean, comfortable room with everything you would need, (tea, coffee, towels, hair dryer, etc.). Very helpful staff and excellent restaurant. Could not fault. 10/10. Would.....no, WILL stay again.

Alan Rodgers - 23rd March, 2014
Verified Review

What a find!
We chose to stay at the Swingate Inn and Hotel for 1 night before our trip to France. The room was very clean and comfortable the Manager made us feel especially welcome. We took his expert advice on what to choose for dinner and it was wonderful. The hotel is really located 5 minutes from the Ferry Port. We will most definitely use this Hotel again.

Colin Stephens - 10th March, 2014
Verified Review

room review
Friendly reception, had room at the back so quiet. All facilities in the room clean and worked well. Recommend for catching early ferry.

Mr. Gerry Brown - 21st November, 2013
Verified Review

Very satisfied
Very usefully located as a stopover en route to ferries. Room was warm & clean, cosy beds & plenty of hot water. Ample off-road -parking. Late night/early morning traffic noise may not suit some people, but the handy location is next to a road so some noise to be expected & it was not a problem for us. Had an excellent meal at the in-house Indian restaurant. Would definitely sleep & eat here again.

Christine Aspinall - 20th September, 2013
Verified Review

Swingate Inn
As always a warm welcome. Food excellent and a very comfortable room. Staff very helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Mr. Tony Newsum - 11th September, 2013
Verified Review

Fantastic stay
Thank you for an amazing 2 night finish to our France holiday. For the past 2 years we have stayed in a well known chain hotel in Dover. The first year we had to complain and we were promised better service the next year however again we had to complain and both times change rooms. This led to looking for somewhere better to stay. Glad we did. The service you provided was fantastic from arrival to departure! We felt like we were welcome visitors rather than just paying guests. 2 rooms were booked (family and double, 5 people altogether) and these were side by side. Our welcome was exceptional and we were shown to our rooms where previously we have been given directions. A table was reserved for our first night for our evening meal. We were given a choice of 2 tables rather than being allocated somewhere we didn’t want to sit. The food and service were very good. There was a wedding party in the hotel that night with a disco (we had been notified) however this did not interfere with our stay, we could hear the music while dining which was quite nice and not too loud but when we returned to our rooms we were not able to hear anything from the party. We went out the following morning and came back to our rooms having been cleaned and fresh towels provided. The extra touch was when we looked at the teddy bears which had been taken with us. In both rooms the bears had been put into different poses. The breakfasts were very nice and again the service was excellent. Food was cooked as requested (one of our party likes food exceptionally well done!) one person asked for bread rather than toast and again nothing too much trouble. The bread and toast were certainly large. The only downfall was we had to leave! Thank you for a fantastic stay and hope to see you next year.

Mr. Steven Moody - 26th August, 2013
Verified Review

Good stay at Swingate Hotel
Good place to stay convenient for ferry port. Good quality accommodation and very good meals available.

Ms. Carolyn Poole - 12th August, 2013
Verified Review

Good Overnighter
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only. The restaurant food was excellent, the staff very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is a bit dated in terms of decoration but they are currently making improvements. The location was superb. Would definitely stay there again for an overnighter. Hope more people give it a try.

Linda Lowe - 8th July, 2013
Verified Review

one night stay
Very comfortable as always. We will definitely stay here again

Mr. Tony Newsum - 4th July, 2013
Verified Review

Overnight stay
Friendly welcome as always. Room clean and comfortable.

Mr. Peter Theobald - 16th June, 2013
Verified Review

Recent stay
Hotel was clean, rooms comfortable, staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. Food good. Hotel ideally situated for port of Dover.

Mrs. Jacqueline Lewis - 24th April, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect for what we wanted
We were a group of cyclists and we found the hotel perfect for what we needed. Good location for ferry, allowed bikes to be stored safely and a very friendly and helpful Manager, Sumit.

Miss Lesley Simmons - 2nd April, 2013
Verified Review

Swingate
Nice friendly unpretentious establishment. Clean well appointed rooms. Excellent service, good value, made to feel at home, good value breakfast. Spacious car park.

Mr. Patrick Pearson - 6th March, 2013
Verified Review

very good
thank you, we love to stay at the Swingate Inn, not the first time we were there and hope to visit again in the near future. Merry Christmas to all of you

Mr. Josee De Coninck - 24th December, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend Treat
Would certainly recommend the Swingate Inn to any traveller who may be visiting Dover or going on to France as we did. The cleanliness of the hotel, the friendly staff and the excellent and reasonably priced food and drinks is far better than other places we have stopped in the area.

Mr. Winston Mutter - 12th November, 2012
Verified Review

Very good.
Very friedly staff from the minute i arrived to the minute i was leaving.The morning lady received me with a smile and caring nature and her breakfast was to die for!! Would stay there again,thank you all.

Dean Young - 25th October, 2012
Verified Review

Good Weekend
Very Nice weekend had a good time thankyou

Nola Boyes - 10th October, 2012
Verified Review

So Convenient.
This is the perfect spot for a stopover before an early ferry crossing. A relaxing drink in the bar before a tasty supper then early night in a comfortable room. Let yourself out in the morning(having paid the night before!) - 5mins to the port and your holiday begins.

Peter Macgovern - 5th September, 2012
Verified Review

Swingate Inn and Hotel
We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble even though we had arrived later than planned. I would recommend his hotel to anyone needing a stop over in Dover.

Mrs. Dani Britten - 29th August, 2012
Verified Review

-
Adequate accommodation and good kitchen at 5 minutes distance from Dover-ferry-terminal, so that catching an early ferry is no problem

Govert Van Wesel - 26th August, 2012
Verified Review

Visiting family & friends
I booked family and friends into the Swingate Inn for one night. Everyone was happy with the accomodation which was good value. Eight of us also dined in the restaurant which was very enjoyable with excellent food and friendly service.

John Cook - 18th August, 2012
Verified Review

Visit July 12
Good food, friendly and helpful staff. Ample parking. Excellent beer. Clean & tidy room.If you want a quiet room ask for one at trear of hotel. I was visiting friends and relatives in Dover So the Swingate was an ideal base, would return again. The Swingate was ideal

Mr. Kenneth Painton - 29th July, 2012
Verified Review

swingate inn
excellant food, wellcoming staff will return

Andrew Simmers - 18th May, 2012
Verified Review

Funeral wake
The swingate looked after our party of 60 plus very well. The buffet provided was substantial and good value. I have previously sampled the Sunday Carvery several times with parties of 10 and more and have always been well served with good food. We also booked three rooms all of which were clean well furnished and comfortable. The staff are alwas friendly and willing to please. A very well run establishment.

Andrew Daniel - 2nd April, 2012
Verified Review

A Good Week-End
Situated ideally for both the ferry port and local tourist attractions (e.g Dover Castle), Swingate was very quiet customer-wise, but is a very nice Inn/Hotel. Accomodation very clean and tidy and quite well appointed for a very reasonable price. Food very good (esp the breakfast and the Chicken Roulade!!)and also very reasonably priced. Only downside for our stay was that there was only one decent real-ale (Coopers Butt by Theakstone)available at the time in the bar. Having said that, it was a good one!! Would definitely be happy to go back at some point.

John Miller - 27th February, 2012
Verified Review

2 day visit
Two very good rooms looking North over the fields to the Isle of Thanet.

Mr. Chris Merrett - 17th February, 2012
Verified Review

room at the inn!
The Swingate Inn was a random choice. We stayed in January, ie low season. The place was quiet... not busy. The welcome we received was friendly, our room was ready, it was very clean, neat and tidy, but we did have to fiddle with the radiator thermostat a bit to lower the heat from sub-tropical! Our dinner was prepared to order, as was the breakfast. Both meals were very good value, and nothing to complain about. We would recommend the hotel to friends, and should we be in the area again we would return.

Martin Hallam - 15th January, 2012
Verified Review

2nd visit
this is our second visit, we found it to be as friendly as before, rooms were clean and comfortable; evening meal was lovely, breakfast good value for money; one little minor moan, the hotel didnt supply any artifial sweetener for tea or coffee. ideal situation for the port would return again.

Mrs. Janette Abernethy - 29th November, 2011
Verified Review

Joyride
As we had stayed here before we knew it was a good hotel,and in an ideal position for touring and the pot of Dover for further afield.The room was nice and comfortable.The breakfast was very nice and plentiful .The staff were pleasant and helpful.I will certainly stay here again,and I recommend this hotel to anybody.

Mr. David James - 21st November, 2011
Verified Review

Swingate Inn
The staff at Swingate were very friendly & pleasant. The Swingate Inn rooms were clean & comfortable also the rest of the place was pleasant. Food was great

Scott - 18th October, 2011
Verified Review

Friendly and convenient for Ferry
The Swingate Inn was easy to book on line The room was clean with tea making facilities and adequate en suite. Is good for overnight stop which gives easy access to ferry terminal. Evening meal was also good.

Ms. Carolyn Poole - 11th October, 2011
Verified Review

Beds at Swingate
Very pleasant and helpful staff. The food in the restaurant was of good value. The room was fine. Overall, the only niggle was the shower. It would be nice if there was a greater water flow. Certainly happy to stay there again and have already recommended to friends who need to stay over in that area in the not too distant future.

Mr. Dave Burton - 5th October, 2011
Verified Review

martins stay
made very welcome have stayed before breakfast as good as ever well recomended hoping to stay again soon rooms fair size very clean beds oh so compfy thank you swingate.

Mr. Martin Coates Martin Coates - 19th September, 2011
Verified Review

Super Comfy Beds
After a long trip coming back from Poland, this is exactly the sort of place you would wish to stay in back in the UK. Although we didnt eat here, we thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment at night, and the beds (as they say at Westin Hotels) were heavenly!

Mr. Ian Ross - 17th September, 2011
Verified Review

Happy campers
Booking by phone was effortless, check in excellent, staff polite dispite our very late arrival, room clean and comfortable, our only complaint would be the lack of water pressure in the shower.

Ewart - 28th August, 2011
Verified Review

Thank you
Friendly, clean and quiet. Food good. Very convenient for port.

Judas Ann Herrig - 31st July, 2011
Verified Review

hotel review
On arrival staff only too happy to help you. Hotel room was of a good standard and very comfortable. Ideal for the onward traveller

John Blackie - 26th July, 2011
Verified Review

Clean and comfy
We found the Swingate clean, comfortable and friendly. The full english breadfast was very good. I would definitely recommend it as a stop over or even a base from which to explore

Miss. Sue Kirwin - 25th July, 2011
Verified Review

Swingate Inn
Staff gave us a warm welcome and we enjoyed meals in the restruant. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Travlers and locals very friendly making for a good atosphere in the Hotel. The Jazz night was great too. Location of the hotel suited us and we enjoyed the cliff top walk and trips into Dover to visit the castle and other interesting sites. We would recommend The Swingate Inn to other travlers.

Catherine Anderson - 15th July, 2011
Verified Review

Pitstop
Only booked a couple of days ahead, and got a good price for a hotel 5 mins away from the port. Had a horendous journey down due to the motorways, called ahead and said we wouldn't be there until 01:30 (am!) and was told just to give them a call as we arrived and we'd be let in. The night porter must have heard us arriving and thankfully opened the doors before we got there - as it was pouring down. He then offered to open the bar for us to help us relax, so we grabbed a beer & a glass of wine, and went to our room. Nice quiet and comfy room, and a good place to stay if you're on a ferry. I'd use them again.

Stephen Forster - 14th July, 2011
Verified Review

Trip to Netherlands
The rooms were very cosy clean and quite, the food was excellent, Staff very friendly and helpful, Perfect position for onward travel to the continent, my wife and I stayed on a Thursday witch was a Jazz night which was very entertaining and a bonus for our stay.

John Adams - 7th July, 2011
Verified Review

pleasant hotel
pleasant staff very attentive good food clean comfortable accomadation would use this hotel again

Mr. Douglas Giles - 27th June, 2011
Verified Review

Overnight at the Swingate
Excellent evening with jazz. Food good. Basic accommmodation but clean. Would visit again.

Doreen Osuch - 22nd June, 2011
Verified Review

Very Welcoming
Stayed at the swingate inn last wekk with four friends, and had a great stay. The restaurant is excellent, they serve differnt types of food. We all had the curry....wow... probably one on the best currys we have haD, and for a place ike this probably the best. Would recomend this place to our friends, good locations comfortable rooms and friendly atmoshere.

Mrs Mandy Taylor - 12th June, 2011
Verified Review

A Great Little Hotel
The Swingate Inn is very conveniently located for the Dover ferry terminal and is easy to find, just off the A2. The bedroom was comfortable and the food was excellent (both dinner and breakfast). My short stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

Mr. David Allen - 10th June, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay
Stayed the one night last week and i can honestly say had a very pleasurable stay. The hotel is very easy to find, the staff all very helpful especially the young man that checked us in. Will be recomending to all our friends

Alan Hardy - 10th June, 2011
Verified Review

Top place
Well the six of us had a fine time, made very welcome and were given good food.The staff were all happy so happy to say this is a good place.

Welsby - 16th May, 2011
Verified Review